Skip to main content

January 14

1836 – The Prophet Joseph and others met in council to draft the rules and regulations to be observed in the “House of the Lord’ in Kirtland, Ohio.

1840 – About this time Sidney Rigdon and Doctor Foster arrived in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, joining with the Prophet Joseph.

1844 – The Quorum of the Twelve Apostles issue a proclamation updating the membership of the Church on the progress of the Temple, the need to obey the law of tithing, and called for the help of the Saints to gather to Nauvoo with all they have to help in completing the Temple. It concludes with, “May the grace of our Lord Jesus Christ, a veneration for the names of the first Martyrs, first Elders, and first Prophets of the nineteenth century, inspire your hearts, to hear counsel, to keep counsel, to practice holiness, live the life of saints, and die the death of the righteous, that your last end may be like his’ (History of the Church, 7:359).

1847 – President Brigham Young receives Doctrine and Covenants 136, outlining the “word and will of the Lord’ concerning the Saints and their organization for the trek west.

1972 – The Church announces the creation of the Church Historical Department, with new archives, history, and library divisions created from the former Church historian’s office.

1974 – The names of the stakes of the Church are changed to identify them uniformly with their geographical area.

1979 – The first stake in Bolivia is organized in Santa Cruz.

2018 – President Russell M. Nelson was set apart as the seventeenth President of the Church, with Dallin H. Oaks as First Counselor and Henry B. Eyring as second Counselor.

No Comments yet!

Your Email address will not be published.